Geology
DIFFERENT TYPES OF SOIL
Villiers limestones
These are sedimentary limestone deposits. They are made up from large quantities of white pebbles, generally flat and between 5 and 10 cm in size, enveloped in soil containing varying amounts of sand and clay depending on situation. These are well-drained soils that heat up rapidly in the spring, usually resulting in early maturing. They line the eastern part of the vineyard. They are found on the slopes around Villiers, to the east of Soumard and to the east and south of Bouchot. The old quarry at Vaurigny (with a lime kiln) is ideal for observing this soil structure
Villiers limestones
Marls with small oysters (Nanogyra virgula)
These are clayey-limestone soils, containing large quantities of "curly-shaped small oysters" and varying quantities of limestone pebbles and fossils (amonites) according to situation. More clayey than the previous types, these soil types take longer to warm up. They cover the largest part of the vineyard, the central part from Soumard, the area around Saint-Andelain (except the mound), Pouilly and part of Bouchot.
Marls with small oysters
Barrois Limestones
These are the second pebbly formation found in the vineyard; the limestone pebbles here are usually harder and larger than in the Villiers limestones. It contains few or no fossils. It is a very dry and poor soil. It is found on the western edge of the AOC area starting at Boisfleury and Boisgibault continuing up to the hamlet of Les Loges.
Barrois Limestones
Flinty clays
This is white, brown or greenish clay containing pieces of flint, varying in size from 5 to 20 cm. This formation is located on the heights of the Saint-Andelain mound, Saint Laurent and on the Tracy slopes.
Flinty clays
Argillosiliceous
More recent alluviums are also found, a mixture of sand, clay and silt which cover some limestone plateaux with thicknesses between a few tens of centimetres to several metres.
Argillosiliceous


SOIL FORMATION

From a geodynamic perspective the geological region is attached to the Burgundy plate. It is bordered on the west by the Loire trench which is juxtaposed with the Sancerre fault and the underlying Biturige immediately to the west.

The oldest lands are from the Jurassic period and are around 160 million years old. These are formed from calcareous marine deposits, with the fossils (remnants of organisms and shell debris) found in their heart testifying to their past life. Amongst these, the presence of corallum indicate that the climate at the time was tropical.

The sea receded from the area for the first time 140 million years ago, recovered it 20 million years later, then finally receded at the end of the Cretaceous period (70 M.a.), when the climate was colder than during the Jurassic period.

From this time onwards the area went through a strong erosive period. The calcareous deposits dissolved partially, leaving behind residues which were more or less clayey (flinty clays or cherts). A powerful Eocene river flowed from the Massif Central along the current bed of the Loire, leaving deposits in the north of the region (around Cosne). The climate was once more tropical during this period (35 M.a.).

An important tectonic phase then stretched across Western Europe from west to east. This created the Alsace, Bresse and Limagne trenches and in this region, the Loire trench. Many faults in a north-westerly direction appeared at the same time and sculpted the current hilly relief.

Four very different soil types can be differentiated in the vineyards:


 Villiers limestone of the Oxfordian

 Marls with oyster shells of the Kimmeridgian

 Barrois limestone of the Portlandian

 Flinty clays of the Cretaceous

M.a. Geological period Soil type Local name
113 CRETACEOUS Albian Clay-with-flint Silex (flint)
147 JURASSIC
SUPERIEUR
Portlandian Barrois Limestone Caillottes (pebbles)
156 Kimmeridgian Nanogyra Virgula marls Terres blanches (white soil)
163 Oxfordian Villiers Limestone caillottes (pebbles)

top

La géologie
LES DIFFERENTS TYPES DE SOL
Calcaires de Villiers
Ce sont des dépôts sédimentaires calcaires. Ils sont formés d’une grande quantité de cailloux blancs, généralement plats (caillottes), d’une taille d’environ 5 à 10 centimètres enveloppés dans un sol contenant plus ou moins d’argile et de sable selon les situations. Ce sont des terrains drainants, qui se réchauffent rapidement au printemps, et permettent généralement une maturité précoce. Ils bordent la partie Est du vignoble. On les trouve sur les coteaux de Villiers, l’est de Soumard et l’est et le sud du Bouchot. L’ancienne carrière de Vaurigny (Four à chaux) permet une observation privilégiée de ce profil.
Calcaires de Villiers
Marnes à petites huîtres (Nanogyra virgula)
Ce sont des sols argilo-calcaires qui contiennent une grande quantité de « petites huîtres en forme de virgules » et une quantité variable selon les situations de cailloux calcaires et de fossiles (Amonites). Plus argileux que les précédents, ces sols sont généralement plus longs à se réchauffer. Ils couvrent la plus grande partie du vignoble, partie centrale depuis Soumard, autour de Saint-Andelain (excepté la butte), Pouilly et une partie du Bouchot.
Marnes à petites huitres
Calcaires du Barrois
Deuxième type de caillottes présent sur le vignoble, les cailloux des calcaires sont généralement plus gros et plus durs que ceux des Calcaires de Villiers. Ils ne contiennent pas ou peu de fossiles. Ce sont des sols très secs et pauvres. On les trouve sur la bordure ouest de l’aire AOC depuis Boisfleury, Boisgibault et jusqu’au hameau des Loges.
Calcaires du Barrois
Argile à silex
Il s’agit d’argile blanche, brune, ou verdâtre qui emballe des silex dans la masse, d’une taille variant de 5 à 20 centimètres. Cette formation occupe les points hauts de la butte de Saint-Andelain, de Saint Laurent et les coteaux de Tracy.
Argile à silex
Argilo-siliceux
On trouve également quelques alluvions plus récentes, mélange de sable d’argile et de limon qui recouvrent d’une épaisseur variant de quelques décimètres à plusieurs mètres certains plateaux calcaires.
Argilo-siliceux


LA FORMATION DES SOLS

La région géologique, d’un point de vue géodynamique, se rattache au bloc bourguignon. Elle est bordée à l’ouest par le fossé de la Loire qui se juxtapose avec la faille de Sancerre et le sous-bloc biturige immédiatement à l’ouest.

Les terrains les plus anciens appartiennent au Jurassique et sont vieux d’environ 160 millions d’années. Ce sont des dépôts marins calcaires au sein desquels des fossiles (restes d’organismes, débris de coquilles) témoignent de la vie passée. Parmi eux, la présence de polypiers indique que le climat de l’époque était tropical.

La mer quitte une première fois la région il y a 140 millions d’années, la recouvre à nouveau 20 millions d’années plus tard, puis se retire à la fin du temps Crétacé (70 M.a.), le climat est alors plus froid qu’au Jurassique.

A partir de ce moment la région est soumise à une puissante phase érosive. Les dépôts calcaires se dissolvent partiellement, abandonnant les résidus plus ou moins argileux (Argiles à silex ou à chailles) Un puissant fleuve Eocène dévale du Massif Central, empruntant l’actuel cours de la Loire et laissant des dépôts au nord de la région (alentour de Cosne). Le climat, à cette époque (35 M.a.) est à nouveau tropical.

Une phase tectonique importante étire alors l’Europe Occidentale d’ouest en est. Elle crée les fossés d’Alsace, de Bresse, de Limagne, et pour la région le fossé de la Loire. De nombreuses failles de direction nord-ouest apparaissent en même temps et sculptent le relief accidenté actuel.

On peut finalement distinguer sur l’aire du vignoble 4 types de sol bien différents :


 Les Calcaires de Villiers de l’Oxfordien

 Les Marnes à petites huîtres du Kimméridgien

 Les Calcaires du Barrois du Portlandien

 Les Argiles à Silex du Crétacé

M.a. Époque géologique Type de sol Nom local
113 CRETACE Albien Argile à silex Silex
147 JURASSIQUE
SUPERIEUR
Portlandien Calcaire du Barrois Caillottes
156 Kimmeridgien Marnes à nanogyra virgula Terres blanches
163 Oxfordien Calcaire de Villiers Caillottes

Haut de page